top of page

 Edouard Rod Prize 


In 1996, the municipality, represented by its trustee, Mr.Jean-Daniel Savary, created theEdouard Rod Literary Prizeat the instigation of the writerJacques Chessex, former citizen of Ropraz.



Edouard Rod,writer (1857-1910)

Édouard Rod was from Ropraz, the place of residence of Jacques Chessex. He lived for many years in Paris where he was a renowned critic. He himself became an appreciated novelist, in the line of Emile Zola with whom he cultivated friendly relations and whom he publicly defended. Also befriended by Guy de Maupassant, Maurice Barrès noted how the novels of Édouard Rod mark a stage in French literature.


“Looking inward not to know yourself or to love yourself, but to know and love others”

Édouard Rod - The Three Hearts, ed. Didier, Paris, 1890

The Edouard Rod Prizeis a distinction in honor of Édouard Rod, a native of the Commune ofRopraz, well-known writer and literary critic. The Prize is awarded each year to a work by a French-speaking author for any writing in French - whether it is a novel, poetry, short story, or even an essay - remarkable for its qualities of originality and writing. It rewards as much as possible a work in its infancy, or in full search of its form. The award ceremony for theEstrée Foundationis open to residents of Ropraz.

Current members of the Jury:


Président :  M. Olivier Beetschen, écrivain       _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_          M. Jean -Dominique Humbert, writer

         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_          M. Thierry Raboud, poet and cultural journalist

          _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         Mme Florence Schluchter Robins, éditrice

         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_          Mme Jördis Tietje -Girault, Municipality of culture in Ropraz

For any information concerning the Price: MrsJördis


Previous winners


1996  Jean Louis Kuffer,These days(Editions Bernard Campiche)

1998 Michel Layaz,Here lie(The Age of Man)

2000 Jacques Roman,The Book of Insomnia(Editions Words of Dawn)

2002 Janine Massard,As if I hadn't made it through the summer(Editions de l'Aire)

2004 George Haldas for all of his work (The Age of Man)

2006 Patrice Duret,The Deer(Zoe Editions)

2008 Alexandre Voisard, for all of his work

2010 Olivier Beetschen,after the comet(Imprint Editions)

         Jil Silberstein,A life without you(The Age of Man)

2012 Yvette Z'Graggenfor all of his work

2013 Francois Debluefor all of his work

2014 Antoine Jacques,They are all dead(The Age of Man)

2015 Anne-Claire Decorvet,A place for no reason(Editions Bernard Campiche)

2016 Pierre Beguin,Given the benefit of the doubt(Editions Bernard Campiche)

2017 Eric Bulliard,Farewell to Saint Kilda(Hèbe editions)

2018 Bernadette Richard,Happy who like(Editions on the other hand)

2019Julien Sansonnens,The star child (Editions de l'Aire)

2020 Alain Bagnoud,The Supreme Life(Editions de l'Aire)

Preselection for the 2022 award

In its last session, the jury of the Édouard Rod Prize shortlisted the following works for the 2022 edition of the Prize:

"The Patience of the Serpent" byAnne Brevard, Editions ZOE;
“Tender Rocks” fromJulien Burri, Editions on the other hand;
“Hermes Baby” byLouise DeBergh, Editions Romann;
"Miseria" byMaeva Christelle Dubois, Editions Romann;
"The glorious imposture" ofChristopher Gaillard, Editions de l'Aire;
"Until Now" byYves Rosset, Bernard Campiche Publisher;
"Good Fortunes" and "The Plow and the Stars" fromIvan Salamanca, Editions de l'Aire.


Edouard Rod Prize Association

In this year 2022, we created the Association du Prix Édouard Rod to facilitate the search for grants to finance this literary prize. This allows us to make requests to cantonal or private institutions. In addition, every lover of French-speaking Swiss literature can become a member for an annual fee of:


CHF 30.-  for an individual member

CHF 50.-  for a couple

CHF 100.-  for a company or a municipality


Association Committee Members:

Alain Gilliéron, President

Jean-Philippe Écoffey, Secretary

Brigitte Caloz, Treasurer

Jean-Bernard Demont, Advisor Member

If you are interested in being part of this association, you can contact the president, Mr. Alain Gilliéron,

bottom of page